Sequence

I scrawl lists on receipts, on scraps of paper, and on my phone. When I dig into my pant pockets or scan any surface at home, I find my lists. I stumble on crumpled grocery, to-do, and random thought lists, some realized and others hardly touched lists. I keep a list called “waiting on it” for those assignments that linger longer.

When Shawn Amos creates a daily sequence, he orders his to-do lists to nurture their completion. He assembles or choreographs his days before they begin. By sequencing he concludes that some assignments may be better accomplished in the morning. Fridays are better than Mondays for certain activities. He might set aside a couple of hours right away to complete a project that has a looming deadline. (To read more about Shawn’s process, read Chapter 7 in Good Busy.) When I sequence, I try to focus on one commitment at a time and keep with it until my schedule says “move on.”

So many people have told me how good it feels just to check an item off their list. I know this victory too. Shawn Amos’ Sequence challenges us to go one step further by ordering our lists before we take action. When we sequence we decide what comes first and what happens last, which helps us to better allocate time and space to our commitments.

I encourage you to create a daily sequence and set timeframes around your intentions. When you’re in the middle of a sequence, there are far fewer decisions to make. You just follow the path you have laid out for yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

